Exceptional Children » Exceptional Children

Exceptional Children

The nation’s special education law is called the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, or IDEA. As part of making special education and related services available to children with disabilities in the public schools, IDEA defines the term “child with a disability.” 
North Carolina recognizes fourteen specific disability categories that qualify a child for Special Education services.  


Definitions of Disability Categories (NC 1500-2.4)

Autism (AU)

Deaf-Blindness (DB)

Deafness (DF)

Developmental Delay (DD)

Emotional Disturbance (ED)

Hearing Impairment (HI)

Intellectual Disability (ID)

Multiple Disabilities (MU)

Other Health Impairment (OH)

Specific Learning Disability (LD)

Speech or Language Impairment (SI)

Traumatic Brain Injury (TB)

Visual Impairment, including Blindness (VI)